top of page

A back-to-front autumn of easterlies

After returning from Tiree, I was looking forward to a typical warm and windy autumn, but it was not to be. Northerly and Easterly winds dominated, and there was very little wavesailing to be had. The Cornwall Wave Classic wasn't windy enough to compete, and there were no waves at the Avon Beach Wave Classic. Fortunately, I managed to hunt down some conditions, and managed a fun afternoon at Weymouth beach, with waist high waves providing a nice playground to put my new Severne Blades to the test.

We were a little luckier for the first event of the SWA Puravida Wave Series. Hosted by Plymouth Uni, we drove down to Marazion to catch the promised strong easterly wind. We spent most of the weekend bogging around wondering where all the wind was (Marazion being relatively sheltered). Happily, 2 hours of fun bump and jump conditions were enough to complete a single elimination, which I won ahead of Starboard/Severne team mate Sara Kellett, George Norcott, and Ben Bulson. Have a flick through the gallery of excellent photos by Jan Bowden below, and read the official event report here.

Then no windsurfing until I came home for Christmas. And I scored it. Firstly, I got out on my raceboard for the first time since early October, which was a lot of fun, and a great opportunity to get more used to the Severne Raceboard sail.

Then the real action started, and I had an amazing session at Sandy Acres, between Hayle and Gwithian. The waves were head to logo high, and I was perfectly powered on my 4.2 most of the time, which in itself is pretty crazy because it was so gusty, the sail just has an insane untuned range.

The amazing forecast was evaporating by the minute for the Christmas weekend, but I ventured west again, and in the light winds, scored the Bluff all to myself. It wasn't epic, it was hard work, the wind was cross shore, sizable waves were rare, and I found it hard to select good ones, but I was rewarded by a few clean head high gems that I could ride all the way from the sand bar to the inside.

I also windsurfed on Christmas day, staying a bit more local at Daymer Bay. The conditions? Horrific knee high mush and mostly not planing. Worth a try though.

Well now the winds gone again, but fingers crossed we get a few more storms soon.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page